<< Sep 2022 >>
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 1 2
Les pôles de compétitivité


After certification of the R&D project by Nuclear Valley, the application is presented to the financial organizations. Depending on the type of project, public sector funding for innovation is made available at different levels (regional, national or European) and in different forms (reimbursable advances, subsidies).

Here below are the principal financial organizations and their sphere of activity.

The Fonds Unique Interministériel (FUI)

The FUI finances competitiveness cluster collaborative R&D. It supports applied research projects concerning the development of products or services liable to be commercialized in the short or medium term. The projects which receive finance are selected from among those responding to a call for projects made by the Central Office for industrial and services competitiveness (Direction générale de la compétitivité de l’industrie et des services (DGCIS)), which are held twice a year (generally in March and November).

See the competitiveness cluster website

The National Agency for Research (ANR)

The ANR supports research projects which are well advanced with a high level of earlier research. It selects projects to finance from among those which have responded to its call for projects. It subsidizes up to 50% of research costs for companies and 100% of marginal costs for research structures. Additional specific funding is attributed, under certain conditions, for projects which have been certified by a cluster.

See the ANR website


OSEO is a State organization whose role is to finance and provide support to SMEs. It supports innovative technological projects. OSEO provides, in particular, reimbursable advances or subsidies for feasibility studies during the setting up of a partnership.

OSEO has offered the ISI funding program for collaborative projects since 2008.

It is for projects:

•          bringing together at least two medium sized companies (from 250 to 5 000 employees) or two small companies (fewer than 250 employees).

•          presenting either a technological breakthrough or a significant technological advance, and which show potential for job creation

•          having specific and promising industrial objectives (products, processes, services).

The aid is granted:

•          As a subsidy, limited to 50 % of eligible expenditure and only for industrial research activities;

•          As a reimbursable advance, limited to 40% (+ a 10% bonus in some cases) of eligible expenditure for experimental development work.

See the OSEO website 

European programs:

7th Framework Program

The seventh research and development framework program (FP7) is the largest European Union investment program for technological research and development. It aims to organize and financially support cooperation between universities, research centres and industry, including SMEs. It is a program lasting several years, FP7 covers the period 2007‐2013.

Learn more about FP7

The Eureka program

Eureka is independent of EC programs and associates 38 countries including most of the European Union members. Eureka provides support for innovative transnational projects supported by industrialists. It provides certification which helps each of the partners to obtain national funding.

Eureka has defined several strategic technological areas, called clusters, which receive the major part of the funding.

See the Eureka website